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[bookmark: _GoBack]Talking Points: Airborne Disease Prevention
School Exclusion Day
You can protect your child from vaccine-preventable illnesses. That includes measles and chickenpox. The best way you can do that is to get them vaccinated!
Vaccines help keep kids and staff at schools safe and healthy. Vaccines do the same for the entire community.
Oregon law states that immunizations need to be up-to-date for children going to school or attending childcare. If they are not, they must have a record showing they have completed the exemption process.
By far, most parents in Oregon vaccinate their children. Parents who do not want their children to get vaccines can claim a nonmedical exemption. Parents can do this for one or all school immunizations. 
Oregon college students can claim a nonmedical exemption for the measles vaccine.
Parents who want to get vaccines for their children should call their health care provider. They can also call their Local or Tribal Health Authority at 555-555-5555 or call 211 for more information. 
Local health departments have to provide needed vaccines. This is true, even if someone cannot pay. 
Many pharmacists can vaccinate children 7 years of age and older. You can call your local pharmacy for details. 
Many pharmacists can vaccinate children 7 years of age and older. You can call your local pharmacy for details.
Everyday precautions:
Stay home when you are sick.
Cover your cough when you cough or sneeze. Use a tissue or your elbow to cut down on the possibility of spreading germs on your hands.
Practice good hand hygiene. Wash your hands for 20 seconds with soap and water. If soap and water are not available, use an alcohol-based hand rub.
Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth.
Clean and disinfect areas that are often touched.
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