Oregon Child Abuse Hotline
Abuse Reportmg Guide

When in doubt, call

Any time you suspect abuse, call. Hotline screeners accept voluntary calls from all concerned citizens. Make an
immediate report to the Oregon Child Abuse Hotline if you are a mandatory reporter (see Oregon Revised Statute
419B.050) and have reasonable cause to believe that:

¢ Any child with whom you have been in contact has suffered abuse, or
¢ Any person with whom you have been in contact has abused a child.

How to make a report of child abuse

The Oregon Child Abuse Hotline accepts reports 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

When calling, you can choose from the following options:

1-855-503-SAFE(7233)

¢ General public
e Call back feature

If the child is in danger, please call 911 immediately.
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Mission

The Oregon Child Abuse Hotline’s mission is to receive reports of child abuse and provide excellent customer service
with equitable and consistent decision making to ensure safety for Oregon’s children.

Be prepared to provide the following information (if known):

e Name, date of birth or age for all adults and

children involved

e A description of the abuse, including whether

the child has current injuries

e Alleged perpetrator’s name, location and access

to the child

e \Whether the child has American Indian or

Alaska Native heritage

e Telephone numbers, including area code

e Any cultural or language considerations,

race and ethnicity

e Addresses, directions or other means to

locate the individuals of concern

¢ Additional information related to family

functioning, resources and supports

e Detailed observations and statements made

by the child or others

e |f applicable, a description of the child’s

disability or any special needs.

Abuse types:

¢ Neglect

e Physical abuse
e Mental injury
e Sexual abuse
e Threat of harm

Possible abuse indicators:

¢ Inadequate supervision

e Failure to provide food,
clothing or shelter

e Unexplained or suspicious injuries
e |ntimate partner violence

e Substance abuse and misuse
that affects the child

e Fear or changed behavior in child

e Atypical interest in sex,
knowledge of sexual behavior
or acting out sexually

e Rejecting or terrorizing the child.

What you can expect from the hotline:

A focus on safety

e National data reveals
with a centralized
hotline, more families
are found to be eligible
for supportive services.

e Screeners are trained and
trauma-informed.

e All reports are also
reported to law
enforcement.

A focus on consistency

e (Call center software captures
real time data and provides
information to improve screener
performance.

¢ Consistent application of
Oregon Revised Statutes
when screening reports of
child abuse.

¢ Your feedback is used for
continuous quality improvement
(cal.

A focus on customer service

e Hotline screeners and
supervisors are available
24/7/365 to accept reports
of suspected child abuse.

¢ You are notified of the
outcome of your report.

The Oregon Child Abuse Hotline wants to hear your questions, comments and training needs.
Feedback.OregonChildAbuseHotline@dhsoha.state.or.us

You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer. Contact the Oregon
Child Abuse Hotline at 1-855-503-SAFE (7233). We accept all relay calls or you can dial 711.
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