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D H S Oregon Department
of Human Services
AGING & PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES




	MANAGEMENT
(for new facility or change of owner/management only)

Application for Residential Care, Assisted Living & Nursing Facilities: Instructions


Applications must be received by Licensing Unit:

· 60 days prior to Initial Licensing, Change of Owner or Change of Management
Instructions:

	Part 1 — Facility information



Type of facility: Indicate the type of facility license being requested. One application per license type. 

Licensing fee: A separate invoice will be sent for licensing fees. Do not send fees with applications. A licensing fee is required for initial licensing, change of ownership or change of management and when an increase in capacity requires an onsite inspection. Licensing fees are determined by the number of licensed beds at the facility: For change of owner or change of management, the fees are as follows: 1 to 15 beds, $1,000; 16 to 49 beds, $1,500; 50 to 99 beds, $2,000; 100 to 150 beds, $2,500; 151 or more beds, $3,000. For a new facility license, the fees are as follows: 1 to 15 beds, $2,000; 16 to 49 beds, $3,000; 50 to 99 beds, $4,000; 100 to 150 beds, $5,000; 151 or more beds, $6,000. Memory Care fees: 1 to 16 beds, $50.00; 17 to 50 beds, $75.00; 51 or more beds, $100.00. Contact the APD Safety, Oversight & Quality Unit (SOQU) for payment instructions. See page D for contact information.  


Type of action: Check the appropriate box for the action you are requesting.


Facility information: Identify name of facility. The facility name must be registered with the Oregon Secretary of State Corporation Division at the following website: http://filinginoregon.com.

“Qualified Entity Designee (QED)” is the person who is approved to receive and submit the Background Check Request form (MSC 0301QED).

Management applicant information: One application form must be submitted by the business owner/licensee (APD 0570) and another form by the management/operator (i.e., management APD 0570M) for initial licensing and for change of owner/management. If a business is owned by one entity but operated or managed by another entity, both application forms are required. Only one license fee (and Memory Care Community fee if applicable) must be paid. License fee is due with change of management. Contact the Licensing Unit for payment instructions (see page c for contact information).
·  Proof of issued Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN): Either a copy of EIN Confirmation Notice for the owner/licensee or copy of a recent letter from the IRS with your EIN circled.
·   For “Government” or “Tribal” agencies or organizations: If you are a federal, state, county, city or other level of government, or an Indian tribe, you will be legally and financially responsible for Medicaid payments received (including any potential overpayments). The name of that government or Indian tribe should be reported as the owner. The provider should identify as having “ownership or control interests.” List the key authorized officials of your government or tribal agency or organization according to the laws, regulations and program instruction of the Medicaid program.

	Part 2 — Management ownership and control interests 


Use the following definitions to identify the individuals you should enter in parts A, B and D.

“Direct ownership interest” is defined as the possession of stock, equity in capital or any interest in the profits of the disclosing entity. See 42 CFR 455.100 to calculate ownership or control percentage.

“Indirect ownership interest” is defined as ownership interest in an entity that has direct or indirect ownership interest in the applicant (licensee). If a corporation is owned by one or more trusts, the beneficiaries of the trust are considered indirect owners. The amount of indirect ownership in the disclosing entity that is held by any other entity is determined by multiplying the percentage of ownership interest at each level.

“Controlling interest” is defined as the operational direction or management of an applicant which may be maintained by any or all of the following devices: the ability or authority, expressed or reserved to amend or change the corporate identity (i.e., joint venture agreement, unincorporated business status) of the applicant; the ability or authority to nominate or name members of the Board of Directors or Trustees of the applicant; the ability or authority, expressed or reserved, to amend or change the bylaws, constitution or other operating or management direction of the applicant; the right to control any or all of the assets or other property of the applicant upon the sale or dissolution of that entity; the ability or authority, expressed or reserved, to control the sale of any or all of the assets to encumber such assets by way of mortgage or other indebtedness, to dissolve the entity or to arrange for the sale or transfer of the applicant to new ownership or control. In order to determine percentage of ownership, mortgage, deed of trust, note, or other obligation, the percentage of interest owned in the obligation is multiplied by the percentage of the disclosing entity’s assets used to secure the obligation. 
“List each long term care facility”: Include residential care facilities (RCF), assisted living facilities (ALF) and nursing facilities (NF) in Oregon or any other state owned or managed by any person owning five percent (5%) or more of this facility.
Applicant compliance history. Definition of the facility, “where care is or has been provided to children, elderly, ill or persons with disabilities.” Check box to answer each question. For each “Yes” attach an explanation including specific circumstances (who, what, where and when) and how the situation was resolved.

	Part 3 — Status changes


Respond to all questions. 

“Management Company” is defined as any organization that operates a business on behalf of the owner of that business (licensee), with the owner (licensee) retaining ultimate legal responsibility for operations of the facility.

A “chain affiliate” is any freestanding health care facility that is owned, controlled or operated under lease or contract by an organization consisting of two or more freestanding health care facilities organized within or across state lines, which is under the ownership or through any other device, control and direction of a common party. Chain affiliates include such facilities whether public, private, charitable or proprietary. 
They also include subsidiary organizations and holding corporations. Provider-based facilities such as hospital-based home health agencies are not considered chain affiliates.  
	Part 4 — Board of Directors


For organizations that are corporations, this section asks for information about each person on the Board of Directors.
	Part 5 — Business credit check authorization

	Consent for business credit record check to be completed by an authorized representative for the

business owner.


	Part 6 — Approved background check request

	An approved background check request is required for each ten percent (10%) owner for initial licensing, renewal, change of owner and change of management. For those who serve the Medicaid or Medicare population, an approved background check request is required for each five percent (5%) owner. Fill out a Background Check Request form (MSC 0301QED) and process the completed form through the facility Qualified Entity Designee (QED). A background check request should be current and the approved MSC 0301QED will be valid for two (2) years. Copies of the approved MSC 0301QED are required for each renewal application even if previously submitted. Find the MSC 0301QED form at: https://apps.state.or.us/cf1/FORMS.


	Incomplete or falsified applications may result in denial of application.

	If the application is handwritten, please print and use black or blue ink. 


Send applications to (email preferred):

Nursing Facility: 
NF.Licensing@state.or.us
Assisted Living/ Residential Care Facility: 

CBC.Team@State.or.us
Or by mail: 

Oregon Department of Human Services

Safety, Oversight & Quality Unit

Attn: Licensing Specialist

PO Box 14530

Salem, OR 97309

Fax: 503.378.8966
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of Human Services
AGING & PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES




	MANAGEMENT
(For New Facility or Change of Owner/ Management only)
Application for Residential Care, Assisted Living & Nursing Facilities


	Part 1 — Management Company information

	1. Start Date (For Change of Management:
	    /      /      
	

	2. Type of facility:
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Residential care
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Nursing Facility
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Assisted living    
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Intensive Intervention Community
      (5 or fewer Residents with special needs)
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Memory Care


	

	3. Name of Facility (attach a screen print of the confirmed Secretary of State registration page):

	Name of facility: 
	     

	(Doing business as (DBA) name registered with Oregon Secretary of State)

	4. Management applicant information:           
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 New Facility
	          FORMCHECKBOX 
 Change of Management / Owner
	

	Name of legal management entity (exactly as registered with the Oregon Secretary of State Corporation Division):

	
	     
	EIN or tax ID number:
	     


	Street address:
	     

	City, State ZIP:
	     
	Contact name:
	     

	Phone:
	     -       -      
	Fax:
	     -       -      
	Email:
	     


	Type of business:
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 For profit corporation
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 LLC
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Partnership
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Sole proprietor

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 LLP
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Tribal
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Not for profit    FORMCHECKBOX 
 Government owned
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Other


	Part 2 — Ownership or control interests of management company

	A.
	List the name and address for individuals and the EINs for organizations having direct or indirect ownership or controlling interest in this entity (see instructions for definition of ownership and controlling interest). Attach additional pages as necessary to list all officers, ownership individuals and entities with ten percent (10%) or more direct or indirect ownership or 5% if the facility serves the Medicaid population.  Please include their Social Security numbers.

	
	Name
	Address
	EIN or individual SSN
	Percentage of Ownership
	Entity type*

	
	     
	     
	     
	     
	 

	
	     
	     
	     
	     
	 

	
	     
	     
	     
	     
	 

	
	     
	     
	     
	     
	 

	
	*Entity type:  In the “entity type” field, enter one of the codes listed below for each individual listed.

	
	1. Sole proprietorship
	2.  Partnership
	3. Unincorporated associations

	
	4. Corporation
	5. Government or tribal
	6. Other (specify):      


	B.

	List the name, address, EIN and DHS provider number of any other disclosing entity in which a person with an ownership or controlling interest in the disclosing entity also has an ownership or control interest of at least five percent (5%) or more. If serving the Medicaid population, list those who have an ownership or controlling interest of at least five percent (5%) or more. For example, are any owners of the disclosing entity also owners of Medicare or Medicaid facilities? Examples: sole proprietor, partnership or members of board of directors.  


	
	Name
	Address
	EIN
	DHS provider number

	
	     
	     
	     
	     

	
	     
	     
	     
	     

	
	     
	     
	     
	     

	
	     
	     
	     
	     


	C.
	List the name, title, and address of any individual or entity with an ownership or controlling interest in the disclosing entity that has been suspended or debarred from participation in Medicare, Medicaid 

or Title XX program.


	
	Name
	Title
	Address

	
	     
	     
	     

	
	     
	     
	     


	D.
	List each long term care facility (include RCFs, ALFs and Nursing Facilities (NF)) in Oregon or any other state owned or managed by any person owning ten percent (10%) or more of this facility. If serving the Medicaid / Medicare population, list any person owning five percent (5%) or more of this facility.

	
	Facility name
	Address

	
	     
	     

	
	     
	     

	
	     
	     

	
	     
	     

	
	     
	     

	


Check “Yes” or “No” for each question below. For each “Yes” attach an explanation including specific circumstances (who, what, where and when) and how each was resolved.
Has any owning individual or owning entity currently or previously:

1.  Held any ownership interest in any facility (see instructions for definition)? Or provided services to any individuals for which license, registration or certification was either denied or involuntarily or voluntarily terminated during a state or federal termination process during the past five years?    FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes   FORMCHECKBOX 
 No
2. 
Owned or operated any facility which had its license denied or revoked, or received a denial or revocation, under the laws of any state during the past five years?    FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes   FORMCHECKBOX 
 No
	Part 3 — Status changes

	A.
	Has there been a change in ownership or control within the last year?

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If yes, give date:
	    /      /      
	

	
	Do you anticipate any change of ownership or control within the upcoming year?

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	 If yes, give date:
	   FORMTEXT 

  
  /    /      
	

	B.
	Have you filed for bankruptcy within the last two years?
	
	
	
	

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If yes, when?
	    /      /      
	

	C.
	Do you anticipate filing for bankruptcy within a year?

	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes    FORMCHECKBOX 
 No  
	If yes, when?
	    /      /      
	


	Part 4 — Board of Directors

	If the disclosing entity is a corporation (examples: for profit, nonprofit, limited liability or other corporate form) with a Board of Directors, list the full name, and address of the current directors (members). For facilities that serve the Medicaid population and are managed by a Board of Directors, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) require a social security number and date of birth for each board member.

	Name
	D.O.B.
	SSN
	Address

	
	     
	     
	      

	     
	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     
	     

	     
	     
	     
	     


	Provider signature


I understand that knowingly and willfully failing to fully and accurately disclose the information requested may result in the denial of the application. By signing this disclosure statement, I hereby certify and swear, under penalty of perjury, that I have knowledge concerning the information above and the information above is true and accurate. I agree to inform the Department of Human Services (DHS) or its designee, in writing, within thirty days (30) of any changes or if additional information becomes available. 
	I, the undersigned, or acting as the authorized representative of the applicant (licensee), declare 
to the best of my knowledge, this information is true, correct and complete. I give the Department of Human Services permission to obtain payment information from the workers’ compensation carrier and any entity from which the applicant leases a building, property or business.


	     
	
	     

	Authorized representative (Management Company)
	
	Title


	I, as licensee, acknowledge that this management company, cited in the above application, has my permission to act in that capacity until notice to the contrary.


	
	
	

	
	
	   /    /     

	Signature of Licensee or representative (Facility)
	
	Date

	

	Part 5 — Business credit check authorization


Consent for business credit record check:
	I,
	     
	, an authorized representative for the business 

	identified below, hereby consent to a release of credit history regarding this business to the Department of Human Services with the State of Oregon. This consent expires 24 months after the date signed.


	Name of business (licensee):
	     
	

	Business mailing address (include city, state and ZIP code):

	
	     
	

	Other names (DBAs) used by this business: 

	
	     
	

	Name of authorized representative: 
	     
	

	Title of representative:
	     
	

	Signature:
	
	Date signed:
	   /    /     
	


Photocopy additional forms as needed. Credit records are kept confidential unless disclosure 
is court-ordered.
	Part 6 — An approved background check request

	Copies of the approved MSC 0301QED are required for each application even if previously submitted. 


Send applications to:

By email preferred: 

Nursing Facility: 

NF.Licensing@state.or.us
Assisted Living/ Residential Care Facility: 

CBC.Team@State.or.us
Mail: 

Oregon Department of Human Services

Safety, Oversight & Quality Unit

Attn: Licensing Specialist

PO Box 14530

Salem, OR 97309

Fax: 503.378.8966
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